Notarizing a legal declaration


Stamp, © Liesson/photothek.net

01.12.2017 - Article

Full notarization will provide stronger legitimization of a document. While notarizing a declaration, the consular officer not only confirms the identity of the person appearing, but will furthermore provide advice to the person signing on the legal meaning and consequences of the declaration to be notarized.

The text to be fully notarized will be drafted by the competent German mission on the basis of the information provided in advance, possibly (but not necessarily) on the basis of a draft by a German notary or lawyer. The notarization cannot be completed ad hoc and requires an appointment prior to the notarization.

Examples of legal transactions which require full notarization are:

- acknowledgement of paternity for a child

- obligation to pay child support

- irrevocable power of attorney in real estate matters

- sworn affidavit (“Eidesstattliche Versicherung”)

- application for a certificate of inheritance

- transferring an inheritance share to someone else

The fee for notarization will depend on the value of the legal transaction for which it is required (you can enquire about the fee in advance). The fee, calculated in Euro, will be converted into NAIRA according to the daily exchange rate at the German mission and can be paid in cash only.

Please contact the Consular Service for more information on your particular case.

Adminstrative districts of German missions in Nigeria

In legal and consular matters, please turn to the German mission responsible for you. The Embassy in Abuja and the Consulate General in Lagos are each responsible for different Nigerian states. Any applications have to be filed with the responsible German mission according to place of residence.

Administrative district of the Embassy in Abuja in legal and consular matters:

Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Ebonyi, Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nassarawa, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara

Administrative district of the Consulate General in Lagos in legal and consular matters:

Lagos, Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Ondo, Ekiti, Edo, Anambra, Enugu, Imo, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Abia, Delta, Akwa-Ibom, Rivers and Cross River

Please note that the Consulate General in Lagos is responsible for visa applications for all Nigerian States.

Top of page